14
Jan
09

roasted pork belly and clams

Alright for some time I’ve been thinking about how I want to make the Portuguese dish that my mother always use to make and order in the restaurants known as  Porco con Ameijoas( pork and clams).  I love the versions that we would order near the coast in Portugal or in the Newark,  New Jersey Portuguese restaurants.  My only dilemma was that the cooks preparing this great dish for me had no remorse in cooking the living hell out of some diced pork loin.  So I came up with this preparation for it crossing out the pork loin and substituting something that I can easily eat every day for the rest of my life ROASTED PORK BELLY!!  This is an easy recipe to make at home, my suggestion is to buy your pork belly a couple of days ahead of time and season it with salt, pepper, and sugar and let it sit wrapped in plastic so that its seasoned all the way through.  Here is what you need:

  • fresh pork belly, skin removed
  • Fresh clams, I like the small little-necks (fresher the better of course, its the season for some great locals)
  • onion, fresh garlic
  • smoked Spanish paprika
  • white wine
  • fresh parsley
  • good quality tomato paste
  1. The pork belly is going to take the longest so set your oven at three hundred, season you belly (even if you pre-seasoned it), with salt pepper and paprika, and Chrow it in a’ oven. Its going to take a least two hours so plan ahead. cimg0488
  2. In the meantime you can wash your clams, and cover them with cold water.  If you like you can do the corn meal trick and put a little in the water and let them sit for a half hour or so, this way they will release a little bit of their sand.
  3. Also large dice your onion, slice up the garlic, and give your parsley a quick once over, this way you got everything ready to go when the time comes around.  Alright so yea, I’m not giving you and specified amounts but that’s not how I cook , plus I drink way to much while I’m doing this to keep track of anything.  You don’t have to be Arzak to be able to eye out, or decide how much of everything you want in the food you create.  It’s all about your own taste!
  4. After about two to two and a half hours your belly should be well roasted, much of the fat should have rendered and it should be cooked through and relaxed,not a  bit tough.  Pull it out and start the clams.cimg0490
  5. Slightly brown the garlic in extra virgin, add the paprika and toast for thirty seconds, then add the onions and a little salt and sweat until translucent.  When the onions are cooked add a small amount of wine (your not poaching the clams, your just steaming them!) and dissolve some tomato paste in the liquid.  Remember the clams are going to release their juices and you want clam broth not wine broth!  Add your clams, cover and steam till they open on a medium flame. ( about 10 to 12 minutes)
  6. In the meantime slice your pork belly which will still be hot into three quater inch slices and add to a medium hot pan with a little oil.  You want to brown the belly as much as possible, the crispier the better.  Keep flipping the belly slices after about a minute and half on each side to achieve the best browning. cimg0494
  7. When the clams are all popped taste the broth and adjust the seasoning, set aside.  Take your crispy pork out of the pan and onto a cutting board, rough chop into large chunks ( or as large as you prefer!) and add to the clams.
  8. Sprinkle with the parsley, and serve with ample amounts of crusty bread and lemon slices.cimg0501
  9. If your belly came with skin and you were smart enough to save it for its various uses, Chrow it in a’oven while you eat and in about a half hour you should have some crispy pork skin for dessert!!!
5 Responses to “roasted pork belly and clams”


  1. May 6, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you will be a great author.
    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back sometime soon.

    I want to encourage that you continue your great job,
    have a nice afternoon!

  2. June 7, 2013 at 9:09 pm

    Howdy very cool web site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds also? I’m happy to find numerous
    helpful information right here in the submit, we want develop more strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing.
    . . . . .

  3. March 12, 2016 at 6:06 pm

    Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really appreciate your content.
    Please let me know. Cheers

  4. August 23, 2017 at 8:55 am

    At this moment I am ready to do my breakfast, once having my breakfast coming over again to read more news.


Leave a Reply

